Sans Gluten

Gluten is a protein, and protein is healthy stuff, so that means Gluten should be good for you. And for me. Which it probably is. Gluten is not, however, good for my wife. Nope, this little protein, crafted in the endosperm of certain grains, can knock her down for a good day, with migraines, joint and muscle pain, and similar debilitating effects.

Why Gluten? The reason this otherwise indistinguishable portion of a grain has such a response is not well known (at least to me), but it shows up in a remarkable variety of foods. The reason it shows up in food has something to do with the versatility of the host grain, and the clever application of food engineering. The primary source of Gluten is Wheat, which is often used in bread and bread-like products. Aside from direct uses, Wheat can be included in food as thickener, or to enhance some aspect of the food like it’s energy content. Wheat is particularly useful for making Beer, and the starch from Wheat was used to stiffen cloth during weaving (I think they use a different process now). Gluten is also generated by grains other than Wheat, such as Barley, Rye, and depending on who you ask, maybe Oats. Other names for Wheat are usually historical in nature, since what we call Wheat today is the descendant of some super-evil grain quite some time back. So, you may encounter the locally derived names for Wheat, such as Kamut, Spelt, Bulgar, or Durum. This is by no means a comprehensive list, but at least the biggest offenders. The most interesting hiding place for a Wheat derivative I have seen is Soy Sauce. In particular, the traditionally brewed variety. If you avoid Soy for any of the numerous good reasons to do so, keeping away from the Gluten in Soy Sauce should be pretty easy.

So, in this journey through a life of eating food, we have learned to craft our food without the easy engineering techniques that include Wheat. Several Gluten-free grains are available, but require some practice to use (if you are used to Wheat flour).

While this step is a rather daunting task to most, my wife and I were already pursuing the non-processed food route before we had to leave Gluten behind. My wife has been off Gluten for several years, and we have found that most foods can be made without Wheat. All the recipes I have discussed here we made without Gluten, for the recipes that have flour we use a mix of Gluten free flours.

One interesting note: We have found that soaking Gluten free grains overnight in Raw Milk works wonderfully. A fairly consistent issue with Gluten free flours is the stuff you make with them tends to crumble or fall apart. A good night with the friendly milk bacteria seems to convince this flour to settle down and play nice. However it works, I’m glad that it does. The general approach to ‘fixing’ Gluten free flour mixes is to add Xanthan or Guar gum, or a similar bonding additive. Instead of these shortcuts, we are grateful we can make use of the soaking process to keep our food together.

8 responses to “Sans Gluten

  • mar

    Thanks for this great post. I suspect gluten might not be so great for you either…

    Could the soaking be done with kefir? We don’t have access to raw milk, but we make kefir with organic, pastured, low-heat pasteurized milk.

    Also, which are the 3 flours you use to substitute wheat?

    Thanks!

    • soakednuts

      Totally! The Kefir actually works better than just plain milk. It can make your mix a little more sour, but gives more rise as well. If you’re drinking Kefir I’m pretty sure the increased sour flavor will be okay on your family’s tastebuds.
      As for flours, I use a lot of Buckwheat as a base since my wife likes the flavor and nutritional value. I usually mix in some Tapioca and Sorghum as well. I vary the proportions between the flours depending on what kind of product I’m baking. Pancakes are pretty forgiving.
      Are you Gluten free? If so, have you found a good flour mix that works well for you? I’m putting together a post about flour mixes, so any input would be great 🙂
      Thanks for the comment!

      • mar

        Yes, I am gluten free. I am about to reintroduce grains into my diet (have been following the GAPS protocol for 6 months now). I am researching grain mixes that taste great (but only from grains that have been used traditionally, like rice, buckwheat, or corn). Not convinced about xanthan gums and the like as I am still recovering and don’t feel like playing the guinea pig role right now.

        I do remember from my grain-eating days that buckwheat flour tasted specially good when toasted. I also used toasted amaranth in my pancakes. Sorry I can’t help more right now -but I will as soon as I can!

  • Jules

    Do you have any good yeast free gluten free bread recipes (for sandwiches)? I have seen a couple online, but they call for lots of hard to find ingredients like chia seed gel and water kefir grains.

  • Constance

    Great blog! I’m interested in your soaking in raw milk. Do you actually soak the gluten free flour in the milk? Or do you soak the grains from which you make the flour? I currently use rice/tapioca flour/potato starch to replace wheat flour in recipes…and yes very crumbly.

    If you are just soaking the flour, what is the ratio?

    Thanks so much!

    • soakednuts

      Glad you like the blog 🙂
      I soak the flour in milk, usually about equal parts milk to flour.
      It would be better to sprout the grains in water first, then dry them and grind them, but I don’t have a grinder. So instead use the raw/cultured milk to soak.
      If you are not able to get ahold of raw milk, you can try some good organic plain yogurt to soak the flour, Nourishing Traditions has a recipe for that on page 485, just sub in your gluten free mix.

  • Theresa Maffeo

    Xanthan gum is great, you can even bake some cake out of it. It is a great for some of use who have gluten allergy. “,:,,

    Our own blog site
    http://www.caramoantourpackage.com

Leave a Reply

