tabouli (Parsley salad)

I once lost a bet with a Lebanese fisherman*. He challenged my manhood on the basis of Parsley. Yep, that wimpy, little garnish lost me a good $5. How? Oh, the large, burly, shiphand said I couldn’t eat a pound of the stuff, but that he could. Yeah, I know what your thinking, ‘Parsley? That’s not actually food.’ And you’re correct. Also, a pound of Parsley is a lot. After struggling down about two bowls (10-11 oz), I gave in. He gleefully piled his Parsley into a bowel of Bulgar, mixed some oil and other veggies, and ate his lunch. And took my money.

*This story is not based on any real events.

Tabouli is a traditional Mediterranean dish, crafted by mixing Parsley with cracked wheat, then pouring in oil, Vinegar, Lemon juice, and fresh veggies. A modern variation which I prefer can be made by substituting Quinoa for the Bulgar, which is particularly useful for those avoiding Wheat (or gluten).  The general idea is to have about as much Parsley as Quinoa, and to make the mixture smooth with the oil. Vinegar and Lemon juice should be added to taste, and you can fill it out significantly with the veggies if you like.

I usually make (for 2):

1 cup of Quinoa

1/4 cup of Olive oil

2-3 Tablespoon of Lemon juice (a generous splash)

1-2 Tablespoons of Vinegar

3-4 green Onions, chopped

1 or 1/2 Cucumber, chopped

1 full bunch of Parsley, finely chopped

I find the curly Parsley to chop more easily, but flat leaf Parsley works as well.

So, I recommend avoiding the docks at night, and getting your healthy dose of Parsley from Tabouli.

18 responses to “tabouli (Parsley salad)

  • Kimberly Hartke

    Hey, would love to all you to Sally’s press list! I just posted this on the WAPF facebook page.

    I also want to submit a guest blog to you, of my husband cooking crispy pancakes!

    Please email me!

    Kimberly
    Publicist for Sally Fallon and Weston A. Price Foundation

    PS–I am a little hurt you don’t link to my blog 🙂

    • soakednuts

      Deficiency corrected (you now have a link).

      Yippey! I made the WAPF facebook page!

      Props to your husband. (Yay, I’m not the only one! Men of WAPF Wives Untie….er, Unite!) I really want to get some perspectives from men working within WAPF and related food philosophies, so I’m glad to entertain guest blog posts from other men on Real Food.

  • s

    I just found your blog and it is WONDERFUL!!! Thank you for your time on this blog and for giving us such great info (and humor!!!) I am sharing your blog with my facebook friends. Kol Tuv!

  • Christal

    I love this salad, but you need to also add chopped plum tomatoes, raw finely chopped garlic 1-3 cloves to taste & sprinkle in some sea salt to taste. Traditional also calls for mint, but I love putting in cilantro!

    • soakednuts

      Mint and cilantro are fantastic, if fact we have even replaced the parsley with cilantro, and it still works well. I forget to mention salt in my recipes because I add sea salt to everything–even salad. Tomatoes are not an option for my wife, but it does sound delicious. Thanks for the idea about garlic, we both love garlic and hadn’t thought to put it in tabouli.

  • Sandra

    Thank you for this, I will be trying it. I love your irreverent but interested take on Nourishing Traditions. It’s a book I have a love-hate relationship with. Can I just check though, how long you soak the quinoa for? Thanks.

    • soakednuts

      We have been soaking quinoa for 9-10 hours with about a tablespoon of whey, and then rinsing it before cooking. NT mentions quinoa (so far as we can find) only once, and recommends 12 hours of soaking followed by rinse (page 475). Around here we have a Trader Joes (discount import store) which sells organic quinoa. Their brand actually sprouts (we see little ‘tails’) in the 9-10 hours that we soak it.

      BTW, thanks for discovering me. You were the first reader to link to my blog 🙂

  • bet365 italia

    hello!This was a really excellent Topics!
    I come from itlay, I was fortunate to seek your blog in digg
    Also I learn a lot in your Topics really thanks very much i will come every day

    • soakednuts

      Wow! My blog is officially international! First readers from New Zealand and now Italy. Thanks for commenting, I had some excellent venison in a village on a mountain outside of Trento. All the meals my wife and I ate in Italy were amazing, and have inspired our cooking since!

      Sadly I can’t promise a fresh post every day since I am a full time student, but I’ll do my best to post when I can.

  • Martin

    You can get very good Tabouli at Costco.

  • Anna

    Okay, I’m officially in love with you. This is a GREAT site! I’m glad to see a)someone of the male persuasion, and b)someone with a sense of humor take on real food. There’s so much depressing news out there. Your site is much better.

    • soakednuts

      (This is Soaked Nuts’ Wife. 🙂 This is his blog, but he was a gentleman and let me join the discussion. His humor is one the main reasons I married him. Anyway, thanks for the compliment! You’re right–there is a lot of depressing stuff out there. God made us to enjoy food and sometimes it’s really easy to get caught up in trying to do everything *perfect* in terms of nutrition and wellness that we lose sight of the JOY of food and fellowship. So yes, my husband and I take Traditional and Whole Food principles seriously, but with a grain of *sea* salt. Since laughter is great medicine, it helps to not take oneself too seriously!)
      Love your Raw Food blog, BTW! It’s something we’re wanting to do more of (properly prepared of course).

  • Diane Smedra

    I made this to accompany lamb for dinner last night and thought it was excellent. Today, for lunch, I’m enjoying a lovely salad made from the leftover tabouli, some avacado, tomato and tiny salad shrimp. Oh my, this is good. Thanks for the great recipe!

  • Terra

    Great recipe! I have always made tabbouleh differently (with bulger, mint, etc), so this was an exciting change. Even my notoriously finicky husband and daughter loved it! Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

