Raw Milk

When learning to cook at a young age, I was mostly interested in making dessert. The problem with desserts is that they are typically the hardest recipes to follow. Very near the top of my favourite dessert list was Tapioca Pudding. The delicious substance derived in it’s entirety from South American substances, the traditional Manioc root, Vanilla bean, eggs and milk, and the modern sugar. Since I am a baker by personality, I religiously followed the directions on the box. These instructions were, I think, intended to keep kids from making Tapioca Pudding. The first step was to boil milk, and then add the sugar. Any kid who can get past this daunting step with out scorching his mother’s pans reaps the reward of sugar headaches all day long. For almost 2 decades, this is the only context in which it ever occurred to me that one might boil milk. Oh sure, I had heard of Pasteurisation in middle school science class, but I never really thought about what it meant for milk. I just accepted Pasteurised milk as a fact of life.

I vaguely remember that Pasteurisation had saved the world from certain death, and that good ‘ole Louis had stopped the Bubonic plague or something. Maybe it was that he discovered France. Wait, that would have been History class… OK, never mind. I have no idea what he did. Except boil milk. Since then, the process of making milk drinkable is called Pasteurisation. If you want to make it really drinkable, you can Ultra-Pasteurise it. Just don’t tell Sally Fallon (or her army of young mothers) what you are up to, or they will flog you with organic bamboo reeds.

To be completely honest, I am sceptical about a few of the miracles claimed by raw milk. I have been consuming raw dairy almost daily for about 2 years now. It tastes identical the the store bought stuff, and I have approximately the same number of colds/flues as before. I will say that my teeth have fared a lot better, but even those are pretty shot this late in the game. No, I have not been cured of anything by eating raw milk in my cereal. But I have also, strangely, not died. My limbs haven’t fallen off, I have not been struck with blindness, and Listeria has yet to make a comfortable home in my intestine. Raw milk may or may not help you, but in my experience, it is safe.

4 responses to “Raw Milk

  • Rach

    Hi, new reader here (love your style, BTW)
    THought you might be interested to know that two of my children get dreadful eczema when they drink pastuerised milk. (If we ferment it, they can tolerate it). We had access to raw goats’ milk for a while and that was fine too – an exciting development for us. Then last year we spent a month in Mongolia and another in Romania. In both places we consumed COPIOUS quantities of raw cow’s milk. No eczema. At all. And we too lived to tell the tale.
    Kind regards (coz that seems like the right thing to sya on a first comment)
    Rachael

  • Laura

    We have been drinking raw milk for about 6 months. My husband only started drinking it 2 weeks ago. He had avoided it because he always had problems when he drank milk or ate large quantities of cheese. While I was out of town he made the kids some chocolate milk (I know, they totally ruined perfectly good milk) and made too much. He drank it and waited for the aftermath. It never came. So he drank some more the next day. Still no problems. He was so excited to be able to drink milk again. I never knew about his milk issues until this occurred. My 4 year old’s eczema has almost cleared up (we need to cut out ALL pasteurized milk/dairy products if it is going to clear up completely).

    • soakednuts

      That’s awesome! I’m glad your husband found that the raw milk is ok for him. I do like chocolate milk, and I don’t think it is ruined, so he has my approval 😉
      I hope you family continues to be healthy with raw milk!

Leave a Reply

