Review

Nourishing Traditions, Revised second edition by Sally Fallon, NewTrends publishing, Inc.

A review.

With a fashionable, new age-y cover (courtesy of Kim Waters Murray), Nourishing Traditions projects the appearance of a cookbook. Which it is. And yet, so much more. Not only does Nourishing Traditions provide a comprehensive series of recipes, the author includes advise on obtaining healthy ingredients, methods of maximising the nutrition content of food, and occasional commentary on the inner workings of the western world’s food production (‘politically correct nutrition’ -front cover)

1. Pros.

I’m an optimist; except in the morning, which officially ends at 2 pm. So I’ll start with the positive aspect of Nourishing Traditions.

Fat.   Sally Fallon makes fat cool. You can cook with it and you can eat it. It’s even required! Mind you, you need to be careful to eat the right kind, but I like fat. It’s tasty.

Salt.   Salt is good for you??! Yep, heart attacks are caused by, um, other stuff. Salt is good. Eat more of it or you will die. Oh, make sure it’s sea salt, or your wasting your time.

Tasty ‘health food’.   Food that is good for you and tastes good. Rather than giving you a dry, low fat, bran muffin, Fallon gives ‘Mexican Eggs,’ complete with 4 eggs, 4 corn tortillas, 2 tablespoons of lard, and 2 cups of salsa. Oh yeah, and you get to fry the tortillas. (Page 438).

Lamb.   29 recipes are listed under lamb. One of the best red meats available to a thickly bearded scottsman is lamb. Showing a resurgence in the meat industry, eating lamb is cool.

Red Meat.   Are you a man? Do you like red meat? You will find sufficient inclusion of recipes for the heartier palate within the covers of Nourishing Traditions.

2. Cons

Though I enjoy a great deal of the methods employed by Sally Fallon, there are a few things which irk me:

Raw meat appetizers.   There is a whole chapter on making raw meat sound good. It’s not. It may be healthy, I’m not sure, but it  is gross. Thanks, but, uh. no thanks. Sadly, this reduces the number of available red meat recipes. Oh, well.

Time.   Got time? A former math teacher of mine informed me that each of us has precisely the same number of hours in each day. (That’s about 24, or so). I always feel like I get cheated out of a few. Sally Fallon’s recipes take a great deal of planning and preparation. It is a lifestyle. Once you adopt the life, it is pretty easy, but until then it’s rough.

Biology experiments.   I love science. I even enjoy dabbling in a little biology, you know, like dissecting the pigs and such. But I cannot tell you how many jars of fermented this and that have gone terribly wrong. Some of them are still in the back of my refrigerator since I’m afraid the EPA will lock me up if I flush them down the drain. There is a lot of instruction about fermenting your own foods, but it’s way harder than it sounds.

8 responses to “Review

  • Ann Marie @ CHEESESLAVE

    I beg to differ on the raw meat.

    I had the most delicious raw meat appetizer at Lucques in LA the other day: lamb kibbeh-nayah. You would never know it was raw. I also love a good beef carpaccio, or steak tartare.

    Love your blog! Hope you keep it up — very entertaining.

    • soakednuts

      I have you (partly) to thank (or blame) for pushing my wife off the deep end into the Sally Fallon Twilight Zone. 😉

      I do, in fact, enjoy rare steak on occasion and some raw sushi is ok. If I really didn’t know it was raw, I suppose that would be ok, but right now, it’s hard to trick myself when cooking.

      Thanks for the tip on Lucques in LA. Will tuck it away in case we get out that way soon.

      (Geeky aside: the closest I’ll get currently to eating carpaccio is on Sims 2).

  • Jody

    Just wanted to comment that as far as my experience with lacto-fermentation, which I learned from Nourishing Traditions, I’ve never had a single one go wrong, so in reading this review, I wonder what the reviewer must be doing or not doing in order to have so many go bad on them! I’ve learned SO much from Nourishing Traditions and, as a result, currently have many varying sized jars of lacto-fermented foods sitting in my fridge right now, just waiting to be enjoyed! I’ve even experimented with lacto-fermenting veggies that don’t have recipes in Nourishing Traditions and all have come out successfully as long as I follow the general Nourishing Traditions instructions of lacto-fermentation. We’ve certainly had our health boosted as a result!

    • soakednuts

      Thanks for the info! I really want to lacto-ferment… what am I doing wrong? We used fresh veggies from our garden, and followed the NT recipe precisely, and had bad results. It may be more of an art than a science, but I’d like to master the process.

      Do you have any hints/tips that will get us on the right path?

  • Robert @ hisandhershomesteading

    My wife and I recently got this book too and love it. I’ll be keeping tabs on your posts from now on. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

